Paul DeYoung and Belen Monteagudo Godoy receive new National Science Foundation award

Paul DeYoung, the Kenneth G. Herrick Professor of Physics and Physics Department Chair, and Belén Monteagudo Gody, HFF Teaching Fellow in Physics, received a new National Science Foundation award for $374,577. The project is titled RUI: Nuclear Science with Undergraduate Researchers: Studies of Nuclei at the Extremes and New Applications of Nuclear Techniques.

Through this project, the Hope College Nuclear Group will continue to study the structure of neutron-rich unstable nuclei with invariant-mass spectrometry at the Facility for Rare Isotope Beams (FRIB) and RIKEN. Work with the Summing NaI(Tl) (SuN) group at FRIB and Argonne National Laboratories will also continue with a focus on nuclei involved in astrophysical heavy element production. Finally, the PIs and students will continue to apply a variety of nuclear techniques to a range of interdisciplinary questions with the local tandem accelerator at Hope College.

Congratulations on your latest award, Paul and Belén!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *