Computer Science students honored at Honors Convocation

Five Computer Science students were honored at the 2017 Honors Convocation ceremony held on Thursday, April 27 in Dimnent Chapel.

From left: Cole Watson, Aaron Green, John Dood, Joe Bustamante
Nathan Gingrich
The senior award recipients were Cole Watson, John Dood, and Aaron Green.  Watson, from Louisville Colorado, was awarded the Computer Science Senior Prize, a book award given to the graduating senior deemed to be the outstanding student by the faculty of the ComputerScience department.  Dood, from Grand Rapids, and Green, from Midland, were recipients of the David M. Boundy Award, which is a financial award funded by David Boundy and given to the person in the graduating class who is deemed by the computer science faculty to have the greatest potential for making future contributions to the field of computer science.

Bustamante (Williamston) and Gingrich (Potsdam, New York) are both juniors and were honored with the Russel J. Kraay Award, a financial award funded by Dr. Russell J. Kraay and given to sophomore or junior students who, in the judgment of the computer science faculty, have demonstrated excellence in the field of computer science.

In addition to the Computer Science awards, our students were well represented across campus as well.  Nathan Vance, a senior Computer Science & Chemistry double major from Holland, was the recipient of the George and Joan Zuidema Award, given annually to a graduating senior from the Natural and Applied Sciences division who has demonstrated excellence in undertaking and completing substantial research.   This award carries a cash prize of $1000.

Nathan Vance

Two Computer Science students received Philosophy Deparmtent awards.  Michael Kiley, a freshman from Muskegon, was named the sophomore recipient of the Charles E. Lake Memorial Prize for Philosophical Promise, while Evan Altman from Petoskey received the James B. Allis Philosophia Award.

Michael Kiley
Evan Altman
Congratulations to all of these students on their outstanding work!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *