Hope receives 9 new awards from the Michigan Space Grant Consortium!

Hope faculty and students are the recipients of NINE new Michigan Space Grant Consortium (MSGC) grants for 2019-2020!

Four Hope students will receive fellowships: Meredith Bomers (mentor: Peter Gonthier), Eric Leu (mentor: Brian Yurk), Armandine Uwimana (mentor: Michael Misovich), and Carmen Chamberlain (mentor: Amanda Eckermann).  Students will work their mentors on a research project during summer 2019, with students presenting the results of their work during the 2019-2020 academic year.

Two Hope faculty members received Research Seed awards.  Phillip Rivera in Biology will receive a $5,000 award to support the project titled Understanding the impact of chronic low-dose, low energy, proton radiation on systemic inflammation and anxiety-like behaviors in mice.  Brian Yurk in Mathematics will receive a $5,000 award to support the project titled Identifying landslides in canopy gaps in the cloud forest of Monteverde, Costa Rica using high-resolution multispectral satellite imagery.

Two Hope faculty members will receive Educational Program Support awards.  Susan Ipri Brown from ExploreHope/Engineering will receive a $15,000 award to support the project titled Air Quality Monitoring in the Middle and High School Grades.  Eric Mann from Mathematics and Susan Ipri Brown will receive a $15,000 award to support the project titled Engineering The Future Academy.  All three projects are designed to support K-12 students, pre-service teachers, and in-service teachers.

Finally, Peter Gonthier serves as our Institutional Representative to MSGC and received a $2,000 award to support on-going campus activities related to MSGC and a student scholarship.  Total MSGC awards to Hope faculty and students are $54,500 for the period May 1, 2019 through April 30, 2020.

Congratulations to you all!

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *