Hope Physics Grad, Dr. Cynthia H. McCollough (Hope’85), is a world-renowned leader in computed tomography (CT) technologies.

Cynthia McCollough, Ph.D. Photo credit: Cynthia McCollough, Rochester,  Minnesota
Cynthia is the director of Mayo Clinic’s CT Clinical Innovation Center. She’s a professor of both medical physics and biomedical engineering at Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science in Rochester, Minnesota. She has authored over 400 peer-reviewed publications related to CT imaging and has been named a fellow of numerous professional societies. Her influence in the field of CT development and evaluation is unmatched. She was featured in NIH webpage as one of the most influential women in science and engineering. Read the following NIH webpage. 


Prof. Peter Gonthier (Physics) received “Faculty Achievement Award” in 2023.

Prof. Peter Gonthier who served Hope College and the department of Physics for 39 years was recognized with an honorable award, “Ruth and John Reed Faculty Achievement Award” during the faculty recognition luncheon held on Jan 10, 2023. Congratulations!

Dr. Christina Sarosiek (Hope’16) visited Hope’s particle accelerator facility.

After her Physics seminar, Dr. Christina Sarosiek (Hope’16) joined a couple of particle accelerator training groups. Here Matt Stowe (Hope’26) and Godswill Ogudoro (Hope’26) watch her turn a knob to change an aperture that will decrease the size of the beam to a small fraction of what it was.