Off on a Tangent 19.04

Students honored for outstanding work in mathematics and statistics

During last week’s honors convocation a number of awards were given out by the mathematics and statistics department. This year’s winners of the Albert E. Lampen Award in Mathematics are Meredith Bomers and Lauren Adair Cutler. This award is given each year to the graduating senior or seniors in recognition of their outstanding achievement in the study of mathematics at Hope College.

The John H. Kleinheksel Awards in Mathematics were given to Carolyn Atkinson, Rory Campagna, Gabriel DeYoung, William Diephuis, Caroline Ford, Dylan Hillger, Bergen Johnson, Leah Renkema, Heleyna Tucker, Grace VanDellen, William Vance, and Isaac Willemsen. These awards are given to students taking sophomore-level courses for their outstanding achievement in mathematics and promise for future success. 

Other award winners included Anna Carlson, who received the Dorothy Grace Renzema Moore Award for excellence in mathematics and music, Emma Schmittdiel, who won the Janet Andersen Scholarship, and Abigail Holm, the winner of the Erik Aasen Memorial Scholarship.

New members inducted into Pi Mu Epsilon

Many Hope students were recently inducted into the Michigan Delta chapter of Pi Mu Epsilon. Founded on in 1914 at Syracuse University, Pi Mu Epsilon currently has over 350 chapters at colleges and universities throughout the United States. Hope College has had a chapter since 1974

The purpose of the society is to promote scholarly activity in mathematics among the students in academic institutions. Students were invited to join based on their GPA in their mathematics courses as well as their overall GPA. 

The students inducted this year are:  Tucker Babb, Barry Bait, Aerin Baker, Gregory Cahill, Gabriel DeYoung, Reganne Diener, William Diephuis, Cameron Dunn, Eli Edwards-Parker, Rachel Foy, Rebekah Harrelson, Sarah Heinowski, Kristina Hubbell, Fiona Johnson, Claire Moore, Eleni Persinger, Josiah Peterson, Peter Ruffolo, Emma Schmittdiel, Jane Stockbridge, Alexander Thompson, Heleyna Tucker, Grace VanDellen, Camryn Zeller, and William Zywicki

Congratulations Seniors

As our mathematics and statistics major graduates head out to jobs, graduate schools, and places yet unknown, we wish them all the best in their future endeavors. Congratulations to Meredith Bomers, Kylene Bozung, Anna Carlson, Lauren Adair Cutler, Theodore Eppinga, Eddie Landon, Arinze Nwike, Emma Oonk, Danielle Reiber, and Leah Krudy. 

Here are future plans for some of them. Eddie Landon will attend Penn State in the fall to start a PhD program in Statistics. Meredith Bomers is getting married and moving to Indiana to pursue a career in Actuarial Science. Anna Carlson is moving to northern Illinois to find an elementary teaching position. Ted Eppinga is going into the finance industry. He has a job lined up to become a certified financial planner for Securian Financial Advisors in Grand Rapids.

Senior Celebration

We want to celebrate our seniors and their accomplishments!  So please join us Tuesday, May 11 at 7:00 p.m. at the VanderBoards for a short celebration to honor our graduates. The weather forecast looks decent (chilly, but dry), so we’ll gather outside for a brief ceremony followed by time for fellowship, lawn games, and chalkboard art. All are welcome, so take a quick break from studying for finals, get some fresh air, and drop by to congratulate our senior math majors.   

University of Michigan Summer Institute in Survey and Research Techniques

The 2021 Summer Institute for Survey Research Techniques has a large selection of short courses that works well for anyone that has a limited amount of time. The mission of the Summer Institute is to provide rigorous and high quality graduate training in all phases of survey research. The program teaches state-of-the-art practice, theory in the design, implementation, and analysis of surveys. All these courses will be conducted remotely this year.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *