Class of 2016 – Josh Hubers

Congratulations to Josh Hubers, class of 2016!  After graduation, Josh be working for SpringHill Camps as their IT intern for two months while working with student Ben Schipper to start up their own company.

In the latter role, Josh will be a software engineer and the lead developer for Morpheus Scheduling.

Class of 2016 – Jeff Holmes

Congratulations to Jeff Holmes, class of 2016!    Jeff will be working for Apex Controls in Hudsonville as a Control Systems Engineer starting in late May 2016. He will be working on both the hardware and software of developing custom automated solutions for various customers.  Jeff will also be responsible for helping to install the machines at the customers’ facilities.

Alumna Nicki Baumann’s teaching at Saugatuck High School featured in Holland Sentinel article

A good article on Nicki Baumann’s creativity in teaching robotics at Saugatuck High School appeared in the April 30 online Holland Sentinel.  Great to see Nicki exposing high school students to the joy of computer science and robotics!

You can find the article online at

Class of 2016 – Jonathan Dunbar

Congratulations to Jonathan Dunbar, class of 2016!   After graduation he will be working as a software developer for Hex Innovation, a company founded by Hope CS graduates Timothy Cooke and John Stathakis.

Jhon will continue the work he has been doing already at Hex, focusing on front-end web development using the ReactJS framework, but also doing some API work to communicate with the back-end server and database.

2016 Computer Science Award Winners Announced

Congratulations to the 2016 Computer Science Award Winners, which were announced at the college-wide Honors Convocation on Thursday, April 28, 2016.

The senior awards were given to Victoria Gonda and Palmer D’Orazio.

The Computer Science Senior Prize is a book award given to the graduating senior deemed to be the outstanding student by the faculty of the Computer Science department,

The Computer Science Department Leadership Award is given to a student who has demonstrated both outstanding service to the department and leadership among the student body.  The award was established in 2007 to honor John Gould, and is given at the discretion of the departmental faculty when a student’s leadership abilities stand out from his/her peers.  The award includes a gift certificate to the Hope-Geneva Bookstore.

The David M. Boundy Award is a financial award funded by David Boundy and given to the person in the graduating class who is deemed by the computer science faculty to have the greatest potential for making future contributions to the field of computer science

3 juniors received the Russel J. Kraay Award, a financial award funded by Dr. Russell J. Kraay and given to sophomore or junior students who, in the judgment of the computer science faculty, have demonstrated excellence in the field of computer science.

Congratulations to these students for their great work!